What Are the Penalties for an Auto Accident in Florida?
It’s an obvious fact that auto accidents occur all over the country—and every day. But they are very common in the state of Florida.
It could be the number of residents, the number of tourists, or even the warm weather. Also, the roads are flatter and wider than some other areas of the country, which makes speeding and driving recklessly easier.
Despite how common car accidents are in Florida, it doesn’t mean that they don’t come without penalties. Therefore, it’s important you know and understand the requirements and penalties associated with an auto accident in the state of Florida.
No Fault of Yours
The state of Florida is a no-fault state when it comes to auto insurance. What does this mean? It means that if you suffer injuries in a car collision, your first option for injury compensation for is seeking coverage from your own vehicle insurer. It doesn’t matter if the other driver was at fault.
However, an auto accident attorney can help by filing a liability claim with the other motorists’s insurance company. However, this is only if you have suffered permanent injury or significant disfigurement.
Fines and Fees
If the other driver has had a lapse of insurance policy (even for one day) and this is discovered during the proceedings, then this should be reported immediately.
If the lapse in auto insurance occurred twice within a three-year period, then the motorist (even if you are the offender) has to pay a reinstatement fee of $250. If this is a similar offense for the third time within a three year period, then the reinstatement fee increases to $500.
The Department of Motor Vehicle can take drastic measures of suspending driver’s license, vehicle plate, and vehicle registration for up to three years. Once this suspension has been orchestrated, the motorist, even if you are the culprit, has to provide proof of a new insurance policy and also pay $150 fee to reinstate license, vehicle registration, and plates.
If you are in a car accident and you flee the scene of an accident, then this is considered a criminal offense, which is subject to jail time. Unlawfully departing from the scene of an accident can result in either a felony or misdemeanor conviction. It depends on whether the subsequent result of the accident caused an injury or death. In either case, you will need the legal assistance from an auto accident attorney.
Be aware…If you are found guilty of a hit and run accident, an attorney has to establish that you were driving the vehicle and that you knew that the accident occurred.
Injury or Death
If the car accident resulted in injury to the other party, this is considered a third-degree felony. This could involve five years in prison or a similar number of years on probation or a fine of $5,000.
If the accident resulted in death to another party or passenger, then this is considered a first-degree felony, and can even be considered vehicular homicide. This could involve up to thirty years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
If the defendant left the scene of the car accident involving an injury or death while driving under the influence (DUI), the defendant could face a compulsory two year prison term and a compulsory revocation of his or her driver’s license as the court determines.
Speak with a Auto Accident Attorney Florida
In any motor vehicle accident, you will need serious help from an auto accident attorney. The penalties for negligence in auto accident in Florida are pretty stiff. Get help today from an auto accident attorney in Florida.
- What is Comparative Fault in an Auto Accident in Florida?
- Thanksgiving Auto Accident Stats in Florida: What You Need to Know
- Should I Have Additional Auto Accident Insurance?
- 6 Car Accident FAQs for Unusual Accidents